Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become

more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day

service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And

since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to

minimize costs and thus maximize profits.

The argument is stating that over time, the costs of processing of for an organization goes down as it learns how to do things better and its efficiency increases with time. Argument is based upon the example of color film processing industry where costs of processing decreased with time. It is stated that Olympic Foods will be able soon minimize its costs and hence maximize its profits as it was with color film processing.

There are various factors that decides the overall costs of processing, argument should take into consideration all the factors before coming to a strong conclusion and predicting whether the costs of processing will go down with time or whether it will remain same or whether it will increase. As it is stated that in case of color fill processing there was huge decrease in total processing costs for the 3-by-5 print from 1970 to 1984. This could have been because of innovation, which resulted in reducing overall processing costs and not because of experience gained during this time. In 1970, may be 90% of the total processing cost was because of labor charges and now in 1984 because of new technology total labor requirement is reduced by 90%, hence reducing the total cost of processing. There may be other factors those have resulted in reducing total processing cost. New technology may have resulted in reducing total wastage during the processing, hence resulting in reducing the total processing cost. It is stated that for Olympics foods, because of their long experience, they will be able to minimize costs

and this maximize profits. This may not happen, may be by their 25th birthday, cost of labor is increased by tremendous amount and also other cost like that of machinery required for processing will be increased, raw material cost is increased, electricity charges are increased. All these factors will lead to increase in total costs, hence reduced profits.

There may be other factors that effects to overall profits like increase in market competition which will force Olympic Food to reduce its selling price, affecting its overall profits. Olympic food may be able to reduce its total costs of processing but market competition and some natural calamity may affect its overall profit. By 25th birthday, Olympic food may run some promotion campaign in-order to attract more customers or in-order to retain existing customers, affecting its bottom line and its profits. Therefore, multitude of factors ranging from increase in labor cost, increased electricity charges, increased cost of raw material, increase in shop rent etc. can affect total profits of Olympic foods. Hence it can be concluded based upon the analysis and various reasons stated above that reduction in processing cost does not guarantee increased profits.