Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The following argument is flawed for the following reasons. Primarily the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the human body has not changed from ancient times till today, rendering it's main conclusion, that by emulating the way ancient humans ate we can cure many chronic illnesses, invalid.

The argument fails to provide justification for that the human body has not evolved from the ancient times. For one, our body may have been less susceptible to diseases in the ancient times because of the lifestyle of our ancestors or due to the cleaner pollution free environment that they lived in. More significantly, the argument states that by emulating the food habits of the hominids one may cure many chronic illness. Considering how different our way of life and atmosphere is compare to that of the ancient times, the assumption that changing our food habits to align with ancient times is without bias. Had the argument provided scientific evidence that the the components of this soup contains the necessary nutrients to combat chronic illness. Even then, the argument must further prove that these illnesses are not a result of our present lifestyle or environmental pollution.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. The argument is based on the belief of our ancestors and anecdotal evidence and hence cannot be trusted completely. The lack of scientific evidence and the fact that skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can't replenish cartilage in our elbows and knees and chondroitin does not make our brains any healthier further weakens the main conclusion of the argument.

Finally the argument claims without warrant that what help true years ago will hold true today. So, even if we assume that the paleo diets have the necessary nutrients to promote nerve regeneration, the argument is lacking because it does not provide information to show that our body has not evolved from the ancient time till today

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that by emulating the way hominids we can cure many chronic illnesses.