Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic disease. This conclusion is based on mainly two premises. First is that, the proponents claim that our bodies evolved to eat these types of food. Second, is that the anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabollic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. I shall suggest ways to improve the reasoning so that the argument has some validity.

First of all, the argument does not give any scientific evidence about the claim of the proponents. Proponents claim that our bodies have evolved to eat these types of food. There is no proper scientific evidence given for the statement of the proponents. If there was any scientific evidence about these types of food, the proponents claim would have been valid. So, this claim is flawed, because of lack of scientific evidence.

Second, the author has not given any scientific evidence about the bone broth. Proponents have claimed that bone broth has many health promoting nutrients, such as cartilage. There is also anectodal evidence that consumption of bone broth can reduce the chances of metabolic and inflammatory diseases. But, there is no scientific evidence about these statements made. Therefore, these statements can only be believed after a proper scientific evidence is there.

The author has also not given any scientific evidence for the ingested cartilages. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage has a lot of demerits. This statement is believed on what the skeptics have said. If the skeptics have any scientific proof for this, then and only, this argument can be believed.

Hence, I conclude that the reasoning is flawed. I believe that the argument would vastly improme if there was scientific evidence for all the statements that were discussed in the argument.