Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses

The argument is flawed as it assumes a couple of unwarranted assumptions. For one, it assumes that the capabilities of human body of early hominids is identical to the capability of current human body thereby asserting that what proved to be nutritous for early hominids will also be nutritious for the modern man.

Firstly the argument assumes that the capabilities of human body has remained constant over the time from early hominids to the modern man and thus makes a claim that whatever proved to be beneficial for early hominids should be beneficial for modern man. To provide an evidence the argument draws up a relationship between consumption of bone broth and reduced inflammatory and metabolic diseases. However this evidence is moot as the consumption of bone broth is intended to replenish chondroitin and promote nerve regeneration which is completely unrelated to reduced inflammatory and metabolic diseases. Had the argument cited evidence of chondroitin replenishment and promotion of nerve regeneration, the argument might have held true.

Secondly, the argument assumes that ancient humans knew something about physiology that we dont and that by emulating the way they ate, a lot of diseases can be cured. This claim is baseless as not only the disesases/illlness that effected early hominids might be very different from the ones effecting us now, but infact human physiology might have completely changed. The cures that worked for early hominids for curing certain diseases might not work for us in the same way. In such cases, its not only imprudent, but also dangerous as our body might not be accustomed to ingest such food as the argument suggests. In making such a strong claim, the argument should have provided solid evidence that by using the cures or ways of early hominids to combat chronic illness that we face now, actually do work for combating the same disease and are not harmful to the modern man.

Therefore, the argument fails to make a convincing case that by emulating the early hominid ways, we can cure many diseases.