Project title: Determining patterns of cortical electrical activity in Dementing vs Non-dementing patients with non-specific white matter hyperintensity of vascular origin: A pilot study

White matter hyperintensities (WMH) are among the most prominent age-related findings on Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) that are presumed to be of vascular origin [1]. Many small vascular pathologies have been associated with WMH [2-4]. Consequent to this heterogenicity, WMHs are not diagnostically specific. However, a recent secondary analysis of Memory in Diabetes (MIND) sub study of the Action to Control Cardiovascular Risk in Diabetes Follow-on Study (ACCORDION) of 292 patients, showed an association between higher Systolic Blood Pressure (SBP), higher Low-Density Lipoprotein (LDL) and the progression of WMH in diabetic patients. These findings highlighted the significance of cardiovascular risk factors on the evolution WMH [5]. Despite the high prevalence of asymptomatic patients with seemingly innocent WMHs, several studies have shown cross-sectional association between WMH and cognitive decline [6-9]. This conflict has raised scientific curiosity around a “Resilient Brain” theory.

Neuropathological studies have found ischemic changes, plasma extravasation, rarefaction, and loss of parenchymal tissue structure in earlier phases of WMH and reduced myelin density in more advanced WMH pathologies [10-12]. Additionally, the concept of “myelin pallor” has also been suggested as the histological substrate of WMH [13]. Interestingly, other studies have shown that WMHs are particularly related to information-processing speed, executive and cognitive function [7,8], that are highly suggestive of cortical/gray matter involvement [14,15].

Several studies have used quantitative electroencephalogram (EEG) - a measuring reference for cortical electrical activity- to diagnose [16, 17], evaluate [18, 19] and differentiate [20] between subtypes of cognitive disorders including vascular dementia [21-24]. In particular, an EEG connectivity study showed disturbance of connectivity direction in patients with WMH-associated vascular dementia compared to non-demented controls [25]. However, to our knowledge no study has previously compared the EEG patterns of patients with WMH and vascular dementia with risk-factor matched non-symptomatic controls with similar amounts of WMH. In our proposed pilot study, we aim to determine patterns of cortical electrical activity in demented versus non-demented patients with non-specific WMH of presumed vascular origin.