A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Author states that according to a recent study, it was found that children living in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower level of tooth decay than children living in suburban area in the Unites States. Even though they visit dentist more often than a child in Himalayan region, tooth decaying is more in United States. So, author states that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay, which In feel is wrong.

Author have considered only geographical location to evaluate if dental care is required or not. He have definitely ignored other valuable aspects which could be the reason. People living in Himalayan region has access to more natural resources like fruits and vegetables. They consume fresh organic food. Whereas, people in the United States live more on inorganic food. They do not have access to natural resources like one in Nepal. Consumption of fresh food would results in less tooth decay. Since, United States people consume more of processed and frozen food, they tend to decayed tooth.

Consumption of non-vegetarian to vegetarian food also counts in tooth decay. Himalayan people have access to more of vegetarian food from the mountains. Whereas, in the United States, they do not have this privilege, instead they have to depend on non-vegetarian food as there is scarcity of vegetarian food. Climate also plays a vital role as people in US live at very less temperature, to counter that they have to eat more non vegetarian food.

These non vegetarian food, gets struck between teeth and results in decay. People of Himalayas eat vegetarian food which does not struck much like non-vegetarian food. One reason author has missed is that, people in Nepal uses natural herbal sticks to brush their teeth whereas people in US used tooth paste which are not natural. Author should have considered these aspects before extrapolating that dental care is not helpful i preventing tooth decay.

It is other way round, people in US should go for dental care more often. They need more attention than people living in Himalayan region. One big reason is for healthy tooth in Himalayan region is that, most of medicine and ayruvedic come from Himalayas. So these ingredients are already there in their consumption which US people lack.

Hence, I would like to say that Author could have substantiated its inference with more research. There are various reason for the healthy and self healing tooth of Himalayan region children than children living in suburban area of the United States.