A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal re

The several underlying reasonings of the author of this essay, in short, first, is that since there exists a geographical area where people receiving little professional dental care have lower level of tooth decay than another another region where people were reciving dental care; the benifit of receiving regular dental care can be benied. And second, the statistics for all people lving in suburban area in the US necessarily must be consistent to the statistcs for that of all the children falling in the same category.

A vital assumption needed for such reasoning to be valid is that 'geographical location' is a representative indicator of the combination of all other lurking variables, such as gene of the local people, diet, living habits... all those factors that may affect individuals' dental health condition. However, this assumption may hardly hold true. People living in Himalayan mountain region have dramatically different diet habit from those who live in suburban area in the US, which typically involving less sugar and artificial flavors. Also, the food for childing living in Himalayan mountian region tend to contain more fibers, which are less harmful to dental health.

Also, the data '1.25 times per year' for each person on average is not a direct statistics represent the professional dental care received by the children living in the suburban areas in the US. It is totally possible that adults were receiving professional dental care frequently while leving the children receiving no dental care at all. If this is the case, then the statistics simply was not point to the same population group as the one we mentioned living in Himalayan mountatin region.

Further more, there is no evidence suggesting that children in Himalayan mountain region is not receving any form of dental care at all. Even if not professional, those dental care may also be effective, hence result in the low tooth decay rate than childing living in the suburban areas. However, by no mean can non-prefessional dental care being effective drive us to the conclusion that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

In conclusion, the reasoning presented in the passageg is full of flaws as a result of it failure to control all the variables. A correlation is insufficent to suggest causasion, as all the textbook for elementary statistics would suggest.