“A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that since the use of salicylates is correlated with the decline of headache of an average citizen of Mentia, its new use can be expected to result in a continued steady decline in the headache of Mentia's average citizen. However, this needs more evidence to convincingly explain the argument.

First, the author states that the rise in the commercial use of salicylates is correlated with the decrease in headache. But this does not guarantee that salicylateds acts as a cause to mitigate headache. For instance, it may be possible that there is some other substance also whose commercial use has risen in the past few decades and that causes a decrease in the headache. Unless the author provides a scientific explanation behind the role of salicylates in the decrease of headaches, his argument is not compelling enough.

Second, the author says that with the new use of salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decrease in headaches. However, it may be plausible that after a certain time the human body starts showing resistance towards it thereby resulting in the decrease of its effectiveness as a mitigator of headaches. If this happens then there may not be a continuous steady decrease in the headaches of an average citizen of Mentia.

Finally, the author subtly suggests that salicylates resulted in the decrease of headaches when used as a food preservative and so will decrease headaches when used as a flavour additive too. But this cannot be guaranteed without proper experiments. It may be the case that salicylates work diifferently as a food preservative in comparison to as a flavour additive, perhaps because of the differences in the conditions how it is added to food. In such a case, we may not see a decrease in headaches when it is used as flavour additive. Unless it can be conspicuously confirmed that salicylates decrease headaches when used as a flavour additive, his argument is weak and needs more evidence.

Therefore, the argument given by the author that the use of salicylates has a correlation with decrease in headaches and so its use as a flavour additive will result in a continued steady decline needs more evidence. Until then, his explanations for his argument are not strong enough.