A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of this article makes a spruious proposition regarding projected development of salicylates. In stating that a decline in headaches will follow the new use of salicylates, the author makes several unsound assumptions which will require additional concrete evidence to support.

First and foremost, the author assumes that salicylates have a causal effect on the decrease in headaches. By introducing salicylates as members of the same chmical family as aspirin, a treatment for headaches, the author attempts to bias the audience into believing that salicylates have a similar effect. However, it is not stated in the article whether or not this substance actually possesses the chemical structure imperative to headache treatment, nor is it stated that salicylates have a direct causal impact on the decline in headaches in the population. The mentioned study simply concluded that a correlation exists between salicylates and headache decline, but correlation does not imply causation. In other words, there are a multitude of factors such as increased quality of life, sanitation, and nutrition that could have resulted in a decrease in headaches among the study participants. In order for the author's argument to be valid, there must be valid and reliable experimental evidence demontrating that the ingestion of salicylates can decrease headaches. On the other hand, if causal evidence is not present, it is not possible to conclude that the use of salicylates will result in the decrease of headaches among the citizens of Mentia. With this in mind, it is also important to evaluate the commercial success of this substance in order for this remedial effect to be applicable.

The author makes another assumption that the commerical use of salicylates will increase in the near future. As stated in the article, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can be used as flavour additives for foods. What was not mentioned is that companies will continue to use salicylates at an increasing rate. In following with the previous assumption of causality, if this was to be true, then it may be plausible that the amount headaches will decrease in Mentia. Because this was not explicitly stated in the article however, this proposal should be approached with caution; it is likely that the use of salicylates will not increase due to financial limitations, resource availability, political sanctions, and many other reasons. It is possible that the use of salicylates will be halted due to health concerns.

The last assumption that the author makes is that salicylates are beneficial to health. It may be that salicylates have a similar chemical structure to aspirin, can remove headaches, and are commercially profitable, but as with any substance, there may a multitude of effects on the human body. The article does not mention other side effects of salicylates, whether beneficial or harmful. This suggests that salicylates may be a relatively new substance, and not yet subject to clinical trials and rigorous experimentation in controlled and natural environments. Thus, further research into salicylates may actually raise concern and doubt. Should it uncover its dangers, there will be a decrease in its use and conversely, no decrease in the head