A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument presents a long-term survey devoted to studying possible effects of an aspiring relative – salicylate – on a headache. Results of the research revealed decrease in numbers of headaches. At the same time the researchers observed increase in commercial usage of the drug and implied that correlation between those 2 facts exists. Furthermore, they predict even more extensive commercial usage of the drug and expects subsequent decrease of headaches. Though care for city resident’s painless state of mind is laudable, the prediction rests on several flawed assumptions and can not be substantiated based on the provided data.

To begin with, the arguer suggests that commercially used salicylate was the reason of pain diminish. That is not necessarily true. Health of Mentia residents may have improved due to popularization of healthy lifestyle that takes place recently all over the globe: eating healthy, exercising regularly, and sleeping over 8 hours daily typically improve well-being of almost any human. Another remedy that possibly healed patients is increased amount of food that naturally contains salicylates. Finally, patients might have suffered from their migraines so badly that could take other medicines to prevent headaches. Thus, to validate the assumed correlation between increased usage of salicylate as a food preservative and decrease in headaches among patients, one should eliminate other reasons for healing; otherwise correlation cannot be sustained, and 2 facts be admitted as coincidence.

Questioning the true reason of salicylate’s effect is valid, but what is even more valid is questioning survey validity. It is not clear whether survey collected data from the same respondents for 20 years. During such a long period of time sample could have changed: some people went off the survey, some new came over. It is vital to verify that sample remained credible: either unchanged or comparable in terms of age, gender, health conditions. Another point to pay attention to methods of data collection: did people write it down by themselves or doctors did it; what kind of pain was worth noting and how the criterion was defined; did people understand criteria? Especially when people write down something on their own and for an extended period (20 years is quite a long), they tend to forget noting some things or do it later as per how they remember it, thus, significant distortions of results are possible.

Finally, researchers predict that further extension of salicylate commercial usage as a flavor additive will improve painless well-being of city residents. Such a prediction sounds indeed enticing but, unfortunately, doubtful. Even if salicylates derived from all sources – natural and both commercial – will be enough for achieving the therapeutic effect, it is unclear whether city residents will like the new flavor and prefer it over their traditional flavors.

To sum up, the prediction is based on data obtained from questionable survey, rests on unsubstantiated correlation and flawed assumption. For the reasons mentioned above, the forecast cannot be deemed persuasive.