A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The reading passage suggests that residents of Mentia are prospected to suffer from fewer headaches in the future, which can be attributed to increase in Salicylate consumption. Several evidences are stated to corroborate the given claim, including the results of a recently issued twenty-year study. Upon closer analysis, however, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions. There are some questions requiring an answer for the claim to gain persuasive logic.

First of all, does Salicylate produce the exact same effect as Aspirin? According to the passage, they are derived from a chemical family identical to Aspirin. But compounds from same chemical families can produce a variety of results based on specific structural differences. Consider Methanol and Ethanol; both are alcohol molecules containing Hydroxyl (-OH) group, and while Ethanol is edible, consumption of Methanol is obnoxious and can cause death. Applying this example, there has to be additional proof that Aspirin and Salicylates yield equivalent effects.

Not only that, are the average decline in number of headaches solely because of increases in Salicylate usage? It is possible that other factors could've come into play. Perhaps the residents' intake of Aspirin coincided during the time span of the study. Under such circumstances, we cannot conclude that Salicylates were salubrious, because the reduced occurrences of headache could be explained by more dosages of Aspirin.

Furthermore, will the residents of Mentia indubitably eat more food containing Salicylates as flavor additives? If this substance has a odious smell, people would develop an aversion to it. This, consequentially will lead to a stagnant, or even declining purchases of processed foods with Salicylates. Therefore, a concrete supporting detail which guarantees that people will definitely fall for such foods is a requisite.

At first glance, the predictions of health experts stated in the passage might seem plausible. Still, for the argument to hold water, the questions addressed above must be resolved. Otherwise, it is open to skepticism and doubt.