A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

After conducting a twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia, some health experts have predicted that the residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in upcoming future because many food companies are planning to use Salicylates, members of the same comical family as Aspirin, as flavor additives for foods in addition to their use as food preservatives. They have reached to this prediction after observing the exaltation in the commercial use of Salicycalates and a stedy decline in the average number of headaches reported by the study participants. However, before evaluating the argument, answers to the following three questions must be provided.

First of all, is the amount of Salicylates, the food companies use as food preservative, significant to reduce headache? The health experts prematurely assume that they add a significant amount besides the rich amount of Salicylates which are found in the foods normally. It is very possible that the amount of Salicylates present in the foods naturally is well enough to reduce headache. If this is the case, then adding additional Salicylates by the food companies will not have any effect. The argument fails to address this issue and so is seriously flawed.

Secondly, has all the residents of Mentia took participation in the twenty-year study? The health experts assume that all of them were present when they conducted the study from start to end. However, this may not be the case. It is very likely that a large number of people took part in the study when the study began but very few of them reported finally. The people, who did not reported about their headache, may suffer from severe headache despite taking additional Salicylates. If this case has merit, then the argument will not hold water.

Finally, was the study conducted very carefully and did the study participants provide true information about their headache? The health experts assume that study participants provided real condition of their headache after the rise of commercial use of Salicylates. In reality, this may not happen. However, the study participants may provide false information regarding their headache. It is very possible that their headache didn’t decrease rather remained constant. If this is the case, then the argument will be seriously weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the health experts are able to provide answers for the stated three questions and provide more evidence, then the argument can be properly evaluated and provide a clear decision regarding the prediction otherwise it will remain seriously flawed as it is on surface.