The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including tel

While the brand manger's strategy may seem rational and thorough, as a way to ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market, his argument does not provide enough evidence and lacks quantitative data to back its claim. In order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. The argument could end up being much weaker than it seems, or actually, be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more, then analyze what we learn.

To begin with, how can we evaluate that the new formula is actually better than the previous formula? The argument lacks any proof which suggests that the new formula is significantly improved and also provides better results than the previous one. The company should have corroborated this claim with some statistics, by performing a trial on a focus group having a diverse group of people. They could have even published the results of the trial as evidence. This would have strengthened this argument and also entice new customers to buy their facial cleanser.

Moreover, along the lines of the previous assumption, the argument also assumes that the advertisements that the company publishes through various mediums will entice new customers. How can they be sure that the people will be lured by their ads? The argument could have provided some evidence regarding what kind of strategy they will adopt in their advertisements that they will publicize to lure new customers. This would have reinforced the author’s assertion regarding the positive effect of media blitz. To make their ads more appealing, they can advertise their product as to be effective in fighting acne, since pimples are a major issue among teenagers these days.

Additionally, even though the media blitz will be reaching most of the previous customers ,the company cannot be certain that being cognizant of the new formula based facial cleanser, these previous customers will buy their product because we are not sure as to why exactly did they leave the product in the first place. The argument assumes the old formula as the only as to why they lost their customers. Perhaps rather than ineffective older formula, the previous customers recanted the use of facial cleanser because of its increased cost. The argument needs to provide some evidence elucidating the reasons behind why the customers stopped using their product, plausibly in the form of the result of a survey. The survey will help them to identify what exactly they need to focus on to regain the trust of their lost customers For example if increased cost was the reason the company can launch their product at some discounted price initially and advertise this discount. If the people find their product effective, perhaps they will be ready to pay more, later on, for the increased quality.

Hence, looking at the flaws with the manger's memo, we conclude that we need a lot more evidence to accurately assess if Sun-beem can expect to increase the sales of their new product. The argument requires more corroboration in the form of surveys, focus groups and quantitative data. This will make the claim more justified and also increase the likelihood of Sun-beem, once again becoming the best-selling facial cleanser on the market