"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate

In this memo, the director of student housing at Buckingham College concludes that Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories in order to serve the housing needs of its students. To support this recommendation, the author points out that the existed dormitory space is not sufficient to serve the students that will be likely doubled after 50 years and recently, the average of renting rate for an apartment in its town has increased. Further the author also claims that new dormitories would make have a positive influence on the enrollment at Buckingham College. This recommendation is flawed in tenuous reasoning.

Basically, the author hastily assumes that the inclination of the increase its students today never change after 50 years. It might be the case, however, it is possible that the number of students would be reduced in next year or later by some reasons, such as competitive colleges of Buckingham College can attract more students than the college which can result to the decrease of its number of students. Moreover, perhaps there could be a critical financial problem in Buckingham College which can be a reason to reduce its students. If these cases are true, this recommendation is controversial as it stands.

Secondly, even if we concede that the increase of the number of students will continue for 50 years, this recommendation is also problematic in that it assures that new coming students at Buckingham College should live in its dormitory. Few of them will want to live in the dorm, however, there is a possibility that many of them want to commute to the college because their houses are located near by the college, or to live in an apartment because of their personal preferences. Without ruling out these possibilities, this recommendation also cannot be convincing.

Lastly, stating that the average rate in renting for an apartment in the town has increased, this recommendation has an appropriate assumption that the residents of those apartments in the town are only the students of Buckingham College. Even though the students who live in the apartments would rise the average rent, it can be possible that the students cannot be significant to influence on the average rent because a group of others who are not the students is much larger than the students’ group. If this possibility is true, we cannot evaluate this recommendation properly.

To sum, this recommendation is immature and fragile as it stands. To make it better, the author should inform that the increase of the students should be unchanged in the future, and that sufficiently large members of the students will live in the dorm. To make it tenable, we also need to know that the increased average rent for an apartment is caused by the increased the number of students.