Skybold and Associates has seen a remarkable surge in productivity since it instituted its policy of allowing its creative staff to work from home for as many as two workdays (16 hours) per week. Results of this policy have included employees taking fewer sick and personal days as well as greater employee satisfaction and enhanced employee loyalty. In addition, Skybold envisions in the not so distant future a reduced need for office space as fewer offices and cubicles will be needed to accommodate a smaller in-house staff. This will result in dramatic savings for the company. Skybold’s new telecommunicating policy is clearly a win-win situation.

Write a response that identifies questions to be answered before deciding whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Explain how the answers would help you determine whether the argument’s conclusion is logical.

While the passage does seem to give many indicators that Skybold’s new telecommuting policy has been a positive for the company, the passage lacks any hard statistics to back up its claims, opting instead for vague and imprecise language. Some of its logical conclusions also don’t hold up to scrutiny. For example, it is not a guarantee that just because telecommuting is an option for employees that office space will be less necessary for the company. Even supposing that the company can have a reduction in office space, there has been no accounting for other costs that may increase as more employees telecommute, and so the savings in renting office space may be greatly offset by other factors.

The most glaring concern of the passage is that very vague wording has been chosen to describe the supposed benefits of telecommuting. The passage mentions surges in productivity and fewer sick and personal days being taken without precise percentage increases or raw numbers. It is unclear how significant any benefits here have been; the only information we can glean from this argument is the use of the words ‘remarkable surge’, which is a very subjective and qualitative measure and varies from person to person. Another thing that has also gone unmentioned is the method by which these metrics have been calculated, which is important to be aware of as the methodology of how a statistic is taken can greatly affect the statistic itself. These problems are further exacerbated when we look at the claims of greater employee satisfaction and loyalty, which seem like very amorphous measures and not something that an argument should be based upon.

Furthermore, the argument has at times taken facts and drawn unwarranted conclusions from them. For example, the belief that, because employees can telecommute, there will be a reduced need for office space. This is far from certain. The argument has not in fact even mentioned whether or not employees are actually taking advantage of their newfound perk, let alone any potential plans for expansion for the company which, in conjunction with the fact that employees still need to be in the office three days a week, could potentially result in an increased need for office space.

The argument has also not taken into account any new costs that may be introduced by the option of telecommuting. There could very well be inefficiencies introduced to the company caused by poor communication from telecommuting employees, among other problems. The argument has failed to factor in these potential downsides, instead opting to only consider the benefits of reduced rent.

In conclusion, though the argument does make a few points in support of its argument, these points are not backed up enough by objective numbers and surveys, and has at points drawn conclusions that are not necessarily warranted by the facts.