"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

The assumption of the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country is written in the memo about assigning the construction to all access road of all shopping malls to Appian Roadways sounds illogically convening several reasons. The vice president ignored important information and some question needed to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation likely to have the predicted results.

The first important question is needed to be asked is that Route 101 and Route 44 identical in surrounding condition. Indeed, it is quite possible commuting on Route 101 very high, which decreases the durability of roads. In addition, Route 101 can are located the place, which is rainy or stormy most days of a year, so the rate of erosion is at the high level. Without considering this possible scenario, the vice presidents cannot justifiably conclude that quality of Route 44 is higher than Route 101.

The second question should be answered is about features of the new paving machinery. the author does not provide a guarantee that this new machine can be more effective than the old machines. In addition, it is possible employees are not trained to work with this paving machine, and this can have negative effects on the quality of the road. Moreover, the vice president does not mention that how many of the new machines are at the disposal of Appian Roadways. In fact, it may the number of these so few that affect the function of Appian Roadways increasingly. In short, siزne the argument relies on the limited information, I cannot take the author‘s reasons seriously.

The third question is that can the new quality-control manager be effective in building roads with high quality? We need to know more about the manager’s profiles and his proficiency. It is entirely possible that the manager has not sufficient experience, which impacts the function of Appian Roadways negatively. In addition, the manager may have not the related education of this business, and this can decrease quality significantly. Since the author does not answer this question, his conclusion is not convincing.

To sum up, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing. To strengthen the argument, the vice presidents must provide more information about the quality-control manager’s profiles, the number of new paving machine and its features. To assess better the recommendation, we need to know about all effective factors for the quality of roads.