In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this proposal suggested that investing a huge amount of budget on riverside recreational activities by the city government would increase the use of river for water sports. But the assumptions behind this proposal are not solid and logical enough to explaining the necessity of spending more money on recreational task. The proposal would require more evidence regarding the co-relation between the Mason River and the recreational activities of the residents.

The author assumed that favorite recreational activities of the residents of the Mason city are water sports. This assumption is quite vague because according to the passage Mason River is hardly used for this purpose. If the residents are not utilizing this river for water related sports than it is not necessarily has to be true that resident’s favorite recreational source should be water sports. Perhaps the survey was made by taking limited number of people who lives upon the river. We do not know the whether the survey was made with appropriate questions or number of people. Without proper representation of the survey with important features, it can not be reliable source to support authors argument.

Another assumption was stated by the author is that city park department invest a tiny amount of budget to maintain riverside recreational facilities. It can be predicted that maybe city government are spending money for another sources of water sports. Therefore, the possibilities of other available source for these activities cannot be overlooked. Maybe there were sports center with indoor pools for water sports which has all facilities for the residents. Definitely city dwellers will prefer those indoor pools rather than a river which is not well furnished with modern amenities.

Lastly, building upon the implication that residents do not use this river due to quality of the river’s water and smell, the author made a bold statement that taking initiatives to cleaning up the river will increase the usage of the river’s water. This conclusion cannot be drawn based on city dwellers complaints because it is highly possible that complaints were not made because they want to us it for recreational purpose. Maybe they want it to be cleaned for environmental hygiene purpose. Moreover, there is no gurantee that after polishing the river, people will not overuse the river for their day to day lives and the hygiene of that river again go back to old stage.

Examining all various angles and factors involved with improving riverside recreational facilities, the argument does not justify increasing the budget. While the scheme can highlight possibilities, more information is required to warrant any action.