In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The conclusion of this statement "Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational activities" is flawed for three reasons. First, the statement says that water sports are ranked as a favorite, but there is no indication of how high it is ranked and among how many activities. Second, the ranking of water sports being a favorite is based on surveys, but there is no indication on how many people, what age groups participated, and if which vicinity the residents live. Third, there is not indication of where the rest of the budget is going.

A premise written in this statement says that residents ranked water sports as a favorite activity in Mason City; therefore more of the city's budget should go towards riverside recreational activities. The survey has no mention of how many activities were listed in the survey and if there was an option on the survey to fill in another favorite activity not already listed. For all we know, water sports could be ranked number 50 out of 100 activities.

This statement mentions a survey but does not include any results. There is no way to determine how many people took the survey and what age groups participated. It could be that only half of the residents participated in the survey, which is not accurate enough to state that water sports are ranked as a favorite activity in the city. In terms of age groups, different age groups like different activities. And it also is not stated what results came from which vicinity in that city. It could be that residents who live near rivers and lakes like water sports while other who live near dry lands enjoy other activities.

There is not indication of which types of activities were listed on the survey. There could have been activities involving dry lands as well as indoor spaces. There was no indication of any money going towards indoor and dry land activities that could also benefit residents.

Statements like these should have more indication of survey results, participants, age groups, and where else the budget goes.