In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The first point that may have been overlooked is the fact that Mason City residents are already marking the mentioned activities (fishing, swimming and boating) as their favorite, despite the lack of maintenance of the Mason City River. This implicates that it is possible that there are other places (rivers/lakes) in the city for these activities to be carried out. Or, perhaps, the residents go away for trips to other cities to do these recreational activities, since it is nowhere mentioned that the residents like to do these activities in Mason City itself.

The residents have regularly complained about the river water quality and the river's smell, but never about the lack of these activities being offered at the riverside. This, again, implies that the main concern of the residents regarding the Mason City River is its cleanliness and ecological maintenance. It is valid and the most reasonable course of path for the state Government to decide to conduct cleanups of the river as a response to these complaints.

However, the statement which says that the use of the river water sports is sure to increase as a result of this clean-up, cannot be confirmed unless the points addressed in the first stanza are resolved. Perhaps the citizens prefer the Mason City River to be a peaceful and serene site and would not want to conduct recreational activities over here. Perhaps they do want the river to be cleaned so that they can conduct their activities, and in that case, of course, the statement will hold true.

The final statement that concludes that the state should devote more money for riverside recreational facilities, is dependent on several assumptions. Even assuming that the residents DO want the recreational activities to be conducted near the Mason City River, the following point needs to kept in mind: considering that the state will already devote some significant amount of money on the river clean up, it may not be wise for them to devote regular money on recreational activities, as that will not be a trivial cost. Even if the budget does permit it, there may be detrimental environmental effects of conducting these activities. It may be deleterious for the animals and plants residing in this water body.

Thus, the state should devote money for recreational activities near the Mason City River based on three broad factors - what the citizens actually want, what its budget permits, and the ecological consequences of conducting these activities.