In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage states that, the Mason City government should devote more of it's budget to the Mason River recreational facilities. At first glance, it might seem logical to agree with the author's point of view that, since the resident's rank water sports among their favorite, developing the riverside facilities would be good for most os the city's residents. However, when we take a closer look at the argument, it is possible to notice that the author's position is based on questionable assumptions and fragile arguments. The reasoning is flawed and raises serious questions regarding it's validity.

First of all, it's important to analyze the author's claim that the Mason City residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities. What surveys were taken in order to come up with that conclusion? What questions were in this survey, and where were it taken? If in the survey they only interviewed few residents from riverside neighbourhoods, is wouldn't be valid for supporting the author's point of view. Moreover, even if many people did respond that they like water sports among they favorite activities, it is possible that they only like to watch them on television, for instance. Or maybe there is a perfectly good lake or beach, very close to Mason City, that is the favorite place for the city's residents to practice water sports. In theses cases, putting money in Mason River recreational facilities would be inaproppriate.

Following the aforementioned argument, there is the claim that, for years, there are complaints about the river's water quality and the river's smell. But, as claimed before, if the complaints come from a small part of the city's population, maybe it would not be in everyone's interest that that specific river should receive more attention. There is no information about the sources or the validity of that afirmation.

While it is reasonable to agree with the author's assumption that, since the state has announced plans to clean up the Mason River, it's use for water sports is likely to increase, this is not necessarily true. It is possible that people wouldn't practice watersports in that river, if they had other options.