In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In a group of people, there are a lot of ways to find effective solutions to common problems. Nowadays, when even the minorities conquered their right to express their opinion, dialogue is accepted as one of the most democratic path to provide actions that attend to the interests of people with a wide range of opinions. However, progress does not require discussion among people with contrasting points of view in every situation.

To start it all, it is a fact that consensus may be the best way of resolving issues for a great number of occasions. Contrasting points of view usually come from people with very different backgrounds and a variety of knowledges and expertise. Therefore, when all that is put together, the achieved solutions are more likely to be creative, contributing to the progress of the entire group.

On the other hand, assuming that all the situations require discussions in order to achieve progress is a very simple way to look at things. Different occasions require different solutions, specially if time is an important factor.

For example, one clear situation where discussion is not the ideal way to solve a problem is during a military campaign. In the common sense, military are usually very disciplined, what very often mislead people to confuse good soldiers with individuals unprovided with any critical thinking what so ever. But the fact is that, in spite of the fact that soldiers are actually trained to follow commands without questioning, this is only put in action in critical situations, when the time used for arguing about a specific subject could endanger the mission or even someone's life.

To sum up, there is no doubt that discussion is the best way to achieve progress, specially if different points of view are raised, because it shows different ways of thinking about the same problem; therefore, a creative and innovative solution is more likely to be formulated. However, the assumption that the discussion is the only way to achieve progress is false, since different situations require different approaches, and there isn't always time to make a slowly decision.