Should the organizations pursue only profit or do they have obligations to the society?

Any organization’s main purpose is to give profit to it’s owner. Even NGO’s with “non profitable objectives” need to make money in order to continue operating. Nevertheless, the fact is that every company is built and mantained in a society and, therefore, has responsibilities and obligations in order to promote a good or a service that will be used to the community’s well being.

First of all, it is important to point that one thing leads to another: the profit will come from the interest society has in the goods or services provided. That is to say that the organization’s primary interest is to serve the society somehow. Giant corporations, such as Coke and Google, provide something interesting to the people: in these cases, beverages or I.T. solutions. Therefore, even the greediest companys have to work in favour of the people they serve, beacause this is what will make it’s success.

Moreover, the organizations depend on human workers, who have needs. Studies have shown that better conditions workers find in the company, including benefits such as healthcare, dental care and profit’s participations, the more productive they become. These benefits have been shown to be a smart investment, and nowadays the giant companies, specially the technological ones, such as Apple, Microsoft and Google, are investing more and more on that. And since the workers are part os the society, that is also a way of serving the community.

To top it all, when organizations become sucessfull, they concentrate not only money, but also power. At this point, the government should be able to persuade these wealthy companies to increase the ammount of contribuition they have been giving to the community. That is part of the gonvernment responsibilities, in order to increase social equability. Also, consumers will soon be repulsed by the goods and services provide by greedy corporations, and may start looking for competitors with better enviromental and social consciesness.

In other words, in spite of the fact that the organizations need to create money in order to survive, it is needless to say that they do have responsibilities and obligations to the society, since they are built in a community that needs to be served.