Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The passage states that the television station should devote more time to weather and local news on their late-night news program. While it is not unreasonable to agree with the author's point of view regarding this issue, due to the brief reasoning he/she presents, more information is needed in order to make an decision that will actualy have a positive effect on the viewers and the advertisers.

First of all, it is important to analyze the author's claim that most of the complaints received over the past year were from viewers concerned with the station's coverage of the local news and the weather. But the author does not mention the validity of these complaints, compared to the number of viewers. If the television station reaches hundreds of thousands of people in a large city and it's vinicities, with a high index of audience during the night shows, and the number of complaints is no bigger that a couple of dozen, that would mean the news program is pleasing an amazing amount of viewers. If that were the case, a change in the focus of the news could be a mistake.

Following the afforementioned claim, ther is the fragile assumption that the viewers were satisfied with the news before the television station start devoting more time to the national news. If the number of complaints in the past was even bigger than it is now, and they dropped when the show started devoting more time to national news, that would mean that this change actualy had a positive impact on the viewers. The author would benefit from bringing information comparing the complaints before and after this change, in order to convince the readers that, when the local news and the weather started receiving less attention, more viewers started to be insafistied with the station. However, if that is not the case, this argument is completely invalid.

Moreover, the author assumes that the local businesses canceled their advertising revenues because of the station's changes on the late-night news programs. Even though this could easily be true, since that when a television station starts losing audience, the advertisers are likely to cancel contracts, ther may be other aspects that persuaded the businesses to make that decision. It is possible that they are investing less money in the television, and more money in internet and social medias advertising. With the technological advances, people are always devoting more of their free time to that, and watching less television. It is possible that the advertisiment in the station would decrease anyway, and the news program change did not affect this.

In other words, despite the fact that the author does highlight a possibility, more information is needed in order to make the satement's conclusion valid for more critic eyes and, therefore, to persuade even the most skeptic readers.