The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Analyzing the eating habits of a population is a complex matter. The author argues that the people in Forsythe have adopted better food consuming habits, but the way it was presented, this claim is weak and unsounded.

First of all, it is important to analyze the author’s assumption that a survey, which was based on responses provided by the citizens of Forsythe, show that their eating habits are closer to the government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. This hypothesis raises questions about how this survey was conducted. Was the surveys from now and from ten years ago exactly the same? Were the questions asked to a relevant part of the population, in order to be considered valid? Are the government nutritional recommendations the same nowadays as they were ten years ago? All these questions should be answered in order to clarify and support the author’s point of view, and if their answers confirm one’s expectations, the they would certainly strengthen his/her conclusion.

Secondly, the author claims that an increase in sales of products containing kiran is a positive sign in eating habits changes. To strengthen this point of view, the author would benefit from informing the source of the information that products containing kiran reduces cholesterol. If this claim fails to prove it’s scientific evidence, there is no point in stating it.

Closely linked to the aforementioned assumption is the bold hypothesis that a reduction on the sales of sulia is also an improve on the food consuming habits of the population in Forsythe because this is a food that few healthy citizens regularly consume. There are uncountable reasons for healthy citizens not consuming sulia, other than believing that this food is bad for people’s health. To support his assumption, the author must use proven evidences that support his/her claim, and that is not the case.

The author’s conclusion that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles is rife with holes and assumptions. In order to sustain his/her point of view, it would be important to use facts and evidences that support the stated claim.