According to a new report from the federal government, overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year. Most notably, donations to international aid groupsincreased by 30 percent, followed by donations to environmental groups, which increased by 23 percent. In contrast, donations to educational institutions did not fare so well, actually decreasing by 3 percent. All the major economic indicators suggest that consumer spending is higher than average this year. In particular, spending has risen considerably for luxury items, such as high-end automobiles, electronics, and fashion, showing that potential donors have ample disposable income. Therefore, the clearest explanation for the decline in donations to educational institutions is that people actually value education less than they did in the past.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The passage states that, since major economic indicators suggest that the consumer spending is increasing, combined with a supposed decrease in governmental donations to educational institutions, people value education less than ther did in the past. While it is reasonable to agree with this conclusion, more information is needed in order to verify the validity of that affirmation. The author fails o provide concrete evidence to support his/her point of view.

First of all, it is necessary to analyze the author's claim that the government donations for educational institutions decreased 3 percent, while to other groups, such as international aid and environmental groups, increased as much as 30 percent. But the passage fails to mention whether the information in this report is trusthworthy or not. In many situations, it was possible to actually manipulate the numbers to show false situations, even in official reports. There are many reasons that could happen in the government: in ellection's year, for instance, a department could be willing to provide false information in order to benefit one of the candidates. The author would benefit from bringing more information regarding this issue, providing the source of the data he mentions and, if possible, find other sources that confirm the presented claim.

The same thing happens with the affirmation that the economic indicators suggest that consumet spending has increased, in particular for luxury items. Again, there is no source mentioned to convince the readers of the validity of that claim.

Following the aforementioned affirmation, comes the auhtor fragile assumption that, since the spending has considerably risen, specially for luxury items, then the government donations had no reason to decrease. This hypothesis lies on different assumptions regarding the government's budget, the political line chosen by the economic team, and among others. If the government's income is smaller than the public spendings, even with the mentioned increase in the consumer spendings, this argument would loose any strenght. In order to make a convincing point, the author should mention whether the taxes income did, in fact, increase. And, if that were the case, if the the people wanted their politicians to donate public money to educational institutions, rather than finding other solutions to the money raising problem to that end.

In other words, while the author does highlight a possibility, more information ir required in order to provide concrete evidence that support's the presented point of view. The author fails to provide necessary data in order to persuade more critic readers.