According to a new report from the federal government, overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year. Most notably, donations to international aid groups increased by 30 percent, followed by donations to environmental groups, which increased by 23 percent. In contrast, donations to educational institutions did not fare so well, actually decreasing by 3 percent. All the major economic indicators suggest that consumer spending is higher than average this year. In particular, spending has risen considerably for luxury items, such as high-end automobiles, electronics, and fashion, showing that potential donors have ample disposable income. Therefore, the clearest explanation for the decline in donations to educational institutions is that people actually value education less than they did in the past.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The latest report by the federal government has noted a significant increase of donation in nonprofit, international aid, and environmental sectors. A decrease of 3 percent has been noticed in the educational sector. At the same time, there was a significant money expenditure on luxurious items. By considering above facts author concludes that decline in the donation for education purposes is due to people value education less than the previous year. But this conclusion has ignored many assumptions and filled with

errors. So we need to dig deeper for many unstated facts in order to reach an appropriate

conclusion.

Firstly, the educational sector donation has been decreased by 3 percent, which is not a very significant amount. There is a possibility that last year the donation was more than enough than required. So there has been a slight decrement in donation and this is enough for this year. Another explanation for this decrease might be that a significant amount of donation went to the nonprofit sector, which is a prime requirement for this year. So none of these explanation leads us to the point that people are devaluing the importance of education.

Another factor discussed by the author is that there has been a significant spending on luxury items like high-end automobiles, electronic gadgets, and fashionable items. So people are spending money on lifestyle, atheistic values which are signs of a progressive and developed society. People can spend money on these items if they have good knowledge of these things or if they consider the value of these things in modern society. These things are useful as per the changing demand of modern culture. So this means that society is becoming more educated and progressive.

Another reason for a decrement in education sector might be that other career-oriented sectors,

which create jobs after completing education are diminishing. So a lot of people are migrating to other states or countries in search of jobs. This leads to migrate their children to other states.

So the federal government has seen a sharp decline in children population. So if demand is less then

this decline in donation is a thoughtful step. Now the government can use this money in the career-oriented sectors which will help to pull their immigrant population to deport to their own country.

Finally, another unstated assumption is to find out the reason for why people are spending more money on luxurious items. There might be a significant demand for luxurious items in the international market. Developed countries are using more of these type of items in their daily life.

So it is better for any other country to understand the new demand by the international market. So it is important to start manufacturing these products. Eventually, this will bring a huge amount of foreign currency in the local market. But before starting this it is important to understand these products

and to understand this person should start using these products. So they can create significant feature

over these products.

So All the above-stated assumption leads us to conclude that decrease in the donation for the education

sector and expenditure on luxurious items doesn't mean that people are giving less importance to

education. There might be other reason, why expenditure has increased significantly in other sectors and an insignificant amount of decrement has been noticed in the educational sector.