The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Field an anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and over the period of time-based

on his observation, he noted the child rearing nature of adults in the village. But after 20 years interview conducted by a team of researchers says that Dr. field observation was not accurate since children in this island spent most of the time with their biological parents instead of other adults. So the author concluded that interview-based approach is more precise than results based on observatory skills. But the author has not considered lots of facts before concluding the accuracy of interview-based approach and these facts are as follows.

First, Tertia is a group of many islands. Dr. field observation has been taken 20 years ago. So there are a lot of chances that over those years the culture has been changed. so based on the current interview we can't deny that Dr. field observation was wrong 20 years back.

Furthermore, current interviews have been taken over a group of island children, so here

we don't know the how many percentages of children has participated in the interview.

Also, we don't know the geographical location of those areas whose children might have participated. So to generalize this sample result over the village will certainly be wrong. Over the 20 years of the period, there would be population growth. So again the sample size of previous observation and the current interview is completely different.

Apart from all this, there is a reason to believe in the accuracy of the observation-based approach. In 20 years, the children must have been adult and their thinking might be same now and they are more in touch with other adults than their biological parents. But instead of analyzing their thoughts in current interviews, we might be conducting interviews on their children, so the current sample and previous sample is completely different. Comparing Dr. field observation with current interview doesn't seem fit here.

However, it might be possible that since parents and other adults might have ingrained the same thought process in their children as well, so if their children are not responding in the same way as they did 20 years back then there must be some mistakes in Dr. Field observation.

Further, there exist some psychological and ethical reasons, which may influence the

current interview results. Like, children are the basic fundamental unit of a village, which in future will lead the village. so it is the responsibility of each adult to educate them and give them the best upbringing in order to do good for his village. The adults may think that after 7-8 years when the children will be employable. So investing their time in rearing his village children will be fruitful in future. When the child will become mature, he will also try to repay the same to those adults by turning their ideas into reality.

But after all, Family comes first and children are responsible for their family well being when they start earning. So they spend most of the time with their parents to solve their problems.

In conclusion, neither of the approaches seems wrong, since both produced some accurate

results based on the available data. Since both of them were taken place in the different time period, and sample on which it was taken was different, so comparing them with each other seems doesn't fit here. Also both the methods have their limited scope, so to say that a particular method will work seems illogical.