The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager decision to restore the weather and local news programs by current national news programs consists of lots of unwarranted assumptions. His decision is based on very limited ideas and facts. This argument needs to be scrutinized deeply in order to reach a final decision.

Firstly, he is taking a decision based on complaints received from current viewers. But this survey doesn't give in-depth analysis of complaints. For eg. how many no of complaints received by viewers, how many peoples participated in the survey, what type of complaints are viewers mostly concerned with, and lastly, whether the complaints were received after implementing the recent changes only. So all the above question must be answered with numerical figures in order to pinpoint the exact reason for the current decline.

Secondly, there is no mention of why business manager took the decision to include more national news programs last year. There might be a huge demand for national news over the local news by local people, there might be scarcity of national news last year, or the growth shown by weather and local news reached a saturation level, so all these might influence the manager to take the decision to include some national and international news programs.

Also, the concern is mostly related to late night weather and local news programs. Now national news has been replaced in place of these late-night show. So it depends on the preference of viewers, they may not like to view national news so late in the night. They might have eradicated all local and weather news, which was wrong, instead of eradicating all programs they might make changes to few programs. So overall there should be the right mix of all type of programs.

There has been a great concern of ad revenues coming from local and weather news. So if the local news will be decreased than ad revenues are going to be affected for sure. But at the same time, no one is concerned over the new type of ad revenues going to come from national news. As local news has been decreased, so ad agencies relied on them must have canceled their contracts, but at the same time now business manager should contact new contractors for ad revenues, who rely on national news. These might increase ad revenues by multiple times, as no of viewers will be increased by multiple folds since more no of users will be interested in national news than local news.

To show national news in place of local news is cost effective solution as well. Because same content can be served to multiple regions with the same cost. Now the business manager has a very good chance of expanding his business to multiple states/regions. By implementing this his implemented changes and programs get more viewership and visibility. So instead of deteriorating the revenues, all these changes can increase overall revenues.

All the belied assumption now has been analyzed deeply in order to get an intrinsic analysis of argument present in the statement. By considering all the discussion it can be easily understood that the assumption made by the author were facile. They need to reconsider all their assumption properly as well as other assumption that has not been previously thought. So if all the discussion will be lucid to the author then he can make more clear and effective decision.