The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The proposal to build new dormitories at Buckingham College raises important questions regarding it’s necessity. The author’s argument is rife with holes and assumptions, that should be carefully studied before any actions in that sense are taken.

First of all, it is important to analyze the author’s assumption that the existing dormitory spaces will become inadequate because of the nowadays’s enrollment growth. According to the passage, current trends show that the Buckingham’s enrollment will double over the next 50 years. It is not clear, however, the validity of that prediction, given that uncountable factors may have contributed to the present enrollment growth. If the cause of that growth is, for example, a current search for a specific course provided by the Buckingham College, and if the search for that course stops in the future, an enrollment decrease may be observed. That would make the author’s suggestion pointless; therefore, more information regarding the enrollment prediction’s is needed.

Closely linked to the aforementioned assumption is the bold hypothesis that prospective students are more likely to enroll at universities with attractive new dormitories. To strengthen his/her point of view, the author would benefit from showing facts that support this assertive. If, for example, Buckingham College had well evaluated courses, market recognized graduates and good studying facilities, then it would be reasonable to state that the new dormitories would be an attraction for more prospective students. On the other hand, if nothing else at the university were good, then the author’s assumption regarding the new dormitories would be unsounded.

Moreover, while it is not illogical to expect that the average rental raise observed in the recent years will make it more difficult for students to afford off-campus housing, this assumption lacks consistency when other facts are considered. Will the average rents continue to raise in the future, or is it possible that a market bubble is created, and they will drastically decrease somewhen? Are there any other options for students to live in, that can be both affordable and convenient? The answer for these and other questions can strengthen the author’s point of view if they confirm one’s expectations that the rents will continue to raise, and there is no other place for the students to live in.

Hence, while the author’s proposal does highlight a possibility, more information is required to accurately evaluate his/her point of view, providing the Buckingham College’s administrators with better tools to make a decision in this matter.