A nation should require all of it's students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Picking up a field of study is a challenging decision young adults must make somewhen in their lives. That decision will have an impact on their academic, professional and, hence, on their personal lives. The earlyer they have to choose the subjects they want to sutudy, the bigger the chances are that this decision is made with no certainty. Therefore, it is important that all the students have the same national curriculim until the end of high school.

First of all, they already have little experience in their lives. The sooner they make this decision, the more premature this choice is. If a high school student has to pick the subjects he/she likes the most, and drop off the ones he/she dislikes, he/she will be narrowing the college choices. But high school students have little experience in the life outside the school. They have never worked before, and probably don't even know what a specific career is like or not. And, if later, they find out about a job in a different area, ther will be no turning back. In the countries in which teenagers pick the subjects they want to study in high school, the students have limited college choices. That means they are more likely to be studying and, later, working, in an area they once liked, but after gorwing up, not anymore.

Moreover, even when a student is certain about a career (what, however unlikely, is possible to happen), that doesn't mean that other sbjects must be renegated. A doctor must have basic knowledge in history, geography and arts, in order to be a more educated citizen. That wide education is proven to be benefic in the countries it happens, such as Norway and Sweden.

To top it all, some people claim that different states and regions demand a diverse curriculum, because the regional cultural differences must be respected. Indeed, this may enrich the local culture. On the other hand, it allows some regions to have worse education, if there are no standarts to the national curriculum. That means that, when students from some places apply for the best colleges, they may be in disadvantadge, since tha tests taken in the appliance are the same for everyone.

In other words, even though the diversification of the students curriculum before college has some advantadges, specially considering the regional differences, it is more important that the national curriculum is standarized, not only in order to avoid the student's premature decisions to drive them in the wrong direction, but also to warranty the quality of the education all over the country.