Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

The relationship between two people, independent of it's kind, has an influence on both of them. Boyfriend and girlfriend, parent and child, or even two strangers who just met in a supermarket, all of them have an impact on each other. The more knowledge one person transfers to the other, the biggest this influence is. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that, in general, students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

First of all, it is important to point the differences between what you learn from a friend and what you learn from a teacher. While friends do have an influence on the way a child talks, dresses or the preferences on television shows, the teachers provide a huge amount of knowledge, that will be part of the individual character the student will develop. The teaching process can be translated as the ability to change someone's behavior towards something. Therefore, considering the teacher's professional obligations, it is not possible to acknowledge the influence they have on the students.

On the other hand, it is a fact that the students spend more time with each other than with their teachers. Best friends are likely to do everything together, at weekends, vacations and after school time. However, the impact they cause in each other's lives are much smaller than the one they get from a class lectured with expertise. That is because students will hardly become friends with people very different from themselves; they tend to bond with other students with a similar way of thinking, dressing and talking. In other words, their time spent together is unlikely to provoke a big change in their original behavior.

Another important thing that must be considered is the fact that teachers have formal power over their students. The way a student is evaluated will have a consequence in the future. That is enough evidence to confirm that the approval from a teacher can not be compared with the approval from a friend, given the fact that it is much easier to make new friends than to build a good school record.

To sum up, while it is not unreasonable to believe that friends do have a big impact in a person's life, the fact is that teachers have a greater influence on the students behaviors, providing them with knowledge that will be part of their personalities for the rest of their lives.