The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The passage states that all the Movies Galore stores ought to implement some changes in order to reverse the recent decline in their profits, and the best way of doing so is to follow the example stablished by one of it’s stores, that reduced the operating expenses. However, this conclusion is rife with holes and assumptions, and more information is needed in order to provide an adequate solution the company’s problem.

First of all, the author claims that, once the Movies Galore are famous for their special bargains, increasing the rental prices is not an option to raise the income and, therefore, raise the profits. But this statement fails to provide sufficient information in order to analyze the viability of that solution. If the special bargains, that are said to attract the public, are based on prices that are ridiculously smaller than the ones charged by the similar video rental stores, then maybe there is a margin to increase the prices and still keep competitive prices, without affecting the public opinion regarding the special bargains offered by the Movies Galore.

Secondly, the author’s conclusion lays on the flawed assumption that reducing operating expenses will not affect the rentals. The downtown store started closing 6:00 PM rather than 9:00 PM. In spite of the fact that this change did decrase the operating costs of that store, it may have affected the total income of the rentals. Moreover, if this decision was taken withou taking into consideration the ammount of rentals in specific hours of the day, maybe the profits will decline more. The author would benefit from bringing more information regarding this issue, such as the impact that this change had on the store’s profit.

To top it all, it is mentioned in the passage that the stores should reduce the stock of all movies realeased more than five years ago. However, older movies could be good sources of income. If people like to go to the Movies Galore precisely because of it’s collection of the classic movies, then this change would degrade even more the company’s recipes, and the author’s conclusion would drive the organization situation that could be far worse tha now.

In other words, the passage reasoning fails in providing enough evidence that would persuade more critic readers to agree with the sugested changes in the Movies Galore stores. More information is needed in order to make a smart and effective decision regarding this issue.