The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are f

The argument drives a point to that the Movies Galore chain has to increase its profit and the only way to do so is by reducing the cost. However, we understand that profit is a function of two variables, one being the cost and the other being the revenue. The argument, however, focuses only on the cost aspect and completely ignores the revenue side.

In order to increase revenues, the Movies Galore chain of stores can run a special campaign or adapt to the new changes in technology to promote sales of their movie rentals. It is observed nowadays that majority of the people order movies while at home and the movies are available with the click of a button. In this age of instant gratification, the ordeal of going to the store to pick up a movie when you want to watch one seems very tedious.

This brings us to the next point of the argument that rightly states that the operating costs of the chain has to be reduced. One measure taken by the management is to reduce the closing time from 9:00 PM to 6:00 PM. However, the action has been taken with an assumption that majority of the stores customers make purchases before 6:00 PM. This assumption is likely flawed as most people are at work on most days until 6:00 PN and would want to pick up a movie on their way home and closing down of the store at that time causes a missed sale. An alternative solution would be to open the stores later in the day as most people watch movies either towards the later half of the day or over the weekends.

Reduction in timings can also be accompanied by the reduction in stock as mentioned by the arguement. However, the argument to reduce inventory of movies greater than five years should be based on detailed analysis of the purchases made by the customers. The author provides no support to the point he drives. There is a possibility that people only rent movies older than five years as they are not available at any other store. If this opposing argument is true, then the store will lose majority of its revenues and hence the profits will go further south.

In addition to the timing constraints and number of employees at the ten locations of Movies Galore, stores with least business and those that fail the profit benchmark can be closed down permanently. The inaccessibility of the store, the timings and other factors could be a reason for the non-profitability of it and could reduce the running cost significantly.

The author of the argument claims that the prices of the movies cannot be increased as it is unique to Movies Galore to offer special bargains. This point of the argument comes with an assumption that all the other stores are relatively competitive in terms of price. However, if post of the other companies that offer a similar service have increased the price due to underlying factors such as an increased licensing cost for the movies or inflation, then it is fair for Movies Galore to increase the costs. This still doesn't hurt the currently held reputation of special bargains as the stores would still provide cheaper alternatives of movie rentals.

Overall, the argument provided by the author is true to most extent in terms of reducing the operational costs but has some inherent questions that have to be answered in order to fully understand the effectiveness of the suggestion offered. That being said, the author also could have explored other options as mentioned above in order to drive profitability.