The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and support

It is true to a very large extent that the human brain responds very well to positive reinforcements, whether be it gifts and treats on achieving something or exhibiting good behaviour. A part of the argument is in coherence with the above fact and says that the best way to teach is to praise positive behavior.

As humans, we are always seeking for attention and validation from others, and the fact that your actions gain the attention of others to an extent that they praise you symbolizes that you are on the right path. Consider the example of a school kid who has very good manners. The kid is repeatedly spoken well of by the teachers, his parents and parents of other kids who tell their kids to be like the kid with beyond polite manners. It is also true that he becomes a notable figure in the class because of his good image and people are constantly pointing to him in need for examples of good behaviour or to drive a point.

In continuation to the above, the kid with the good behavior becomes a role model to other kids in the class who want to be taken note of. Humans learn a lot through imitation and in this case, the other kids will imitate the above said good kid in order to gain the attention and praise and to get into the good books of the society.

The second part of the sentence takes a stance on ignoring the negative actions of people in the process of teaching. This is true when the behavior is insignificant or trivial. For instance, in the setting of a classroom, a kid always shouting out the answers when the good way to give answers is by raising the hand can be ignored but a kid who repeatedly involves himself in violent behavior and hurting the other kids in his classroom can not be ignored. In the first case, over time, the kids will realize and understand that the teacher never gives recognition to the student who shouts out the answer. So, the smart kids will eventually raise their hands in order to gain attention and thus good behavior is promoted and advocated. However, in the second instace, the kid might take this lack of attention as a green flag and proceed to abuse other kids. In such a situation, it is important to interfere and teach through negative reinforcements by punishing the kid.

In summary, the argument holds true to most extent that best actions can be promoted by praising positive actions and either ignoring or condemning negative actions. The above is not only true to a school setting but also can be applicable in a workplace wherein the good employee is always given credit through word of mouth and mentions in the CEO emails while the underperformers and average employee actions are not given any attention. The human mind is quick to learn the patterns and adapts itself in such a way to gain maximum attention and validation at most times.