The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

A person who gives us knowledge and guides us towards our goal is a teacher. This makes a teacher equal to God.Teacher can be of many forms-a parent, school teacher,sibling or a friend.The form of guidance is given in various forms. The topic states that the best way to teach is to praise positive qualities and ignore negative ones.I agree with the given statement to a certain extent. Every student has an inheritent goodness in them. The responsibility of a teacher is to recognize this and nurture it so that they become responsible citizens. One of the main advantages praising positive actions is that it reinforces the positive action in a student's mind and thus the student will follow it al throughout their lives. For example, the world famous singer Shakira, in her childhood, was shown the lives of less fortunate children than her by her father. When she began helping them, her father encouraged her in this and now she is a very noted philantropist. It is very necessary to encourage such type of positive traits as their discouragement or ignorance can lead to abandoning of that trait by the student. For example, in a TEDx video, a psychologist did a test on two monkeys. When they performed tasks, they were rewarded.But one monkey was rewarded a banana which generally monkey like and the other was rewarded a cucumber, which the monkey didnot like and both monkeys could see eah other. It was shown that initially both monkeys did the task with equal enthusiasm. But as the second monkey saw that the first monkeywas rewarded a banana, it started,refusing to do tasks until it was also gifted with a banana. This experiment show the inherent encouagement a person needs n order to develop anything, be it a skill or a positive trait.

Having said that,it won't do any good if a student's negative traits are ignored. They wouldn't know what is right or wrong and if in the early stage, they donot get corrected, they will continue the mistakes as adults with often bad consequences.For example, if a child throws temper tantrums as a child, and the adults around hm]im/her be it parent or a school teacher doesn't correct him/he, the chid grows up to have a very short temper and will start behaving rudely with every one. This will make him/her lose many good opportunities in life like a good job or a good life partner as nobody likes to deal with a person who has tempermental issues.

Thus, the positive qualities must be praised and the negative qualities must be corrected for the person to lead a qualitative life.It must always be remembered that bitter love is beter than sweet love.