"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The paragraph discusses about the effect of birth order in rhesus monkeys for the production of cortisol. The paragraph doesn't clarify whether all the eighteen monkeys were born in the same clan or in the same area or belong to the same sub species or in what season the data was collected. The area might not be rich in food or the area might have a lot of predators which can affect cortisol hormone production .

The season plays a huge role.In winter, the presence of food is less, and in summer, due to high temperatures, the cortisol might fluctuate. Hnce that should be clearly mentioned.Also, here only 18 monkeys were taken into consideration.That is too small a sample to make a statement. The result which stated that first born infant monkeys showed twice as much cortisol as the younger ones. But this statement cannot conclusively say that first born monkeys show higher stimulation.When an unfamiliar monkey enters the territory, if only the mother is present and she has only one infant(firstborn), the mother will produce the stress hormone, cortisol. The infant understands the clue from the mother and also starts producing cortisol. But in monkeys, the older siblings take care of the younger ones and the young monkeys live with their mothers until a certain age. So when the intruder comes, the mother would have her children to protect the infant. Hence she would produce, less cortisol and thus younger infants also produce less cortisol.

To accurately know whether the stimulation depends on birth order, the observations should take into consideration the number of monkeys presnt when the intruder is present and what is the age gap between older and younger monkeys to verify the fact that when the intruder was present, was the older monkey present to protect its sibling.The same argument can be extended to humans. When parents are absent, it is generally the responsibility of the eldest child to take care of his/her siblings. So naturally they have high level of cortison and the younger siblings whol dont have anybody's responisbility will have less cortisol.SO, in order to verify the results,the younger sibling should have responsibilites of someone like a pet etc their the level of cortisol must be measured.

It is also given that first time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than the one who had several offspring. It all stems from the fact that first time mothers will be nervous about giving birth as they donot have any previous experience.That is why the level of cortisol is higher.So, the cortisol is only produced in conditions where stress is present and the study done is inconclusive to show that the level of stimulation has anything to do with birth order.