Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Dr Karp states that the observation based approached followed by Dr Field in the island of Tertia is invalid and the interview based understanding which Dr Karp and his graduate students adopted was much more accurate to know about island cultures.His first point was that Dr Field stated that the children were reared by the whole community and when he interviewed the children twenty years later, he found out that they taked about their biological parens more.

First of all twenty years is a long period of time. There might be diferent ways in which a community might be different. If we look at our own world comparing 1990s and 2010s is like comparing two different planets-the telegraph disappeared, the technology used in one's mobile is more sophisticated than the one used in moon landing. If so many differences are present in our present culture, in an island culture, though admittedly they live in the island so the technological and cultural exchanges are limited but there might be islands nearer to Terta, where there might be regular contacts with other island cultures different to them. So, twenty years is a long enough time for them to have adopted their culture. Also, maybe twenty years ago, the island didn't have many resources so, they began to pool up resources and divide work amongst the entire community so that they can the best survival chance.Maybe now the situations had changes so that they neednot pool up resources and so the community rearing was not required. Also, it is also possible that then,the infant mortality rate was high or as they had an island culture,the genes which makes a man or woman unable to have children is been circulated. SO for the community to have a new generation would be a source of joy for them and thus the entire community may participate in the rearing of the children. Now maybe due to increase in technology like better boats to transport from one island to other, it is possible that they might have intermingled with different cultures which might have led to betterment of medical facilities or increased gene pool bothe with leads to increase in population. Then a child would no longer be special and so each family might take care of their own children.

Dr Karp also states that in the interviews, the children talked more about biological children than about the other adults in the village.It is explicity not stated that whether they were talking good or bad about their biological parents. It is possible that the adults showered much more affection than the parents and the child was hurt because the parents showed them less love. It can be due to factors like the child might be born with disabilities or were not beautiful enough for them or other factors. Also,even if they talked about the biologica children in a positive light, the paragraph doesn't state with how many children were interviewed. Is it 2 or 20 or 200. He had also counted Tertia along with other island cultures. How can one know whether all the island cultures follow the same traditions as Tertia. maybe he had only interviewed 2-3 children from Tertia and all others from other islands which have different traditons. So, nothing can be conculsively said about that fact.

Also, it is been said that the interview method is much more efficient than the observation method. while it can be said than the interview method will give conclusive points,it mihtnot be always possible because the interviewer mightnot always know the language.Also,the questions asked might be dependent on the researcher's bias. Here Dr Karp followed this method with his grad students. As they are inexperienced, the questionaare mgihtnot be accurate. The observation method might also be biased but there is no evidence to say whether the interview method id more accurate.

Thus it can be said that Dr Field's research cannot be dismissed and the above questions must be answered in order to validate the deductions of Dr Karp.