To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement says that to understand the important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.I agree with the statement to a certain extent. The cities are where the majority of population of a region live. Indeed, the most populous places n the world are all cities like Mumbai, Tokyo and New York city. People from various regions migrate to the cities for the betterment of their lives.The cities have amenities like full fledged transportation system, various types of food commodities and ofcourse multiple job opportunities. Thus, all the latest technologies will be implemented in the cities first. One can judge the standard of the socety in various aspects by just observating how the city functions. Is the public transportation effective?How is the traffic managed?What are the frequencies of schools, hospitals etc.All these can be used to judge the standards of the society of a region.Even in ancient civilizations, the cities of Harappa and Mohenjadaro had modern facilites like permanent bulidings, efficient drainage system, well planned cities thus having all the hall marks of an advanced civilization even even though the civilization existed around 3000BC. A modern example is the city of Tokyo, where the city reflects how efficient the country Japan is. For example, the rule is that the trains have shouldnot be more than 30 seconds late, there are many 24x7 stores with self checkout, many readymade healthier food options for people who donot have time to cook. These are some of the aspects of the city which shows high level of Japanese society. There is no wonder that Tokyo has one of the densest populations in the world.

Having said that, cities is not the only way to understand the society.There are other places where perople live like towns and villages which offer a good and different aspect of a society Countries like India are agrarian countries. Even though there are many major cities like Mumbai, Bangalore,Hyderabad, the majority of population has agriculture as their main occupation.By having a glimpse, of the villages, the important characteristics of India can be deduced. The quantity of food produced, the technology used in effective food production, water,soil management etc. are developed in villages which mightnot be seen in cities.While in the villages, there might not be people from other regions living or such numbers might be in the minority. This results in the conservation of all the traditions and rituals without outside influences. Thus the true charcateristics of a socity might be more evident there than in cities.

Thus cities are a very good but not the only way to judge the important characteristics of a society. All places of habitation such as town and villages must be taken into consideration while judging the important characteristics of a society.