Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

"Give a man a fish, he is fed for a day. Teach a man to fish, he is fed for his life" goes the old saying. Education is one of the most important aspects of a person's life. Whatever field one may choose to work in, be it sports, music,etc, education is vital as it can give a person, an awareness, a perspective which will help in overcoming challenges in their lives. Every person must have a minimum education regardless of their field of study. For this educational institutions are responsible for providing education.Depending upont he faculty, funding, geographical place, different institutions have different fields which they offer. As majority of the population have their jobs,thus their livelihoods on based on their field of study, it is very important for a person to choose a proper field of study as one will be doing the jobs throughou their lives.

Having said that, i completely disagee that the educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.As Henry David Thoreau once said, "You must not just exist, you must live. Existing is as good as being dead."In order for a person to truly enjoy one's life, they must do whatever one is interested in. Even if the said field if there are not many opportunities of finding a steady job, if one is passionate, one can do extraordinary things in the field of their choice."All of us are in the gutters but some of us are looking at the stars."Only people who really love their work, can succeed n the field inspite of several challenges.

For example, it is being said that apart from STEM fields, all the other fields have less opportunities. It is true that the STEM fields might have more funding in the universities because STEM fields generate income to the companies and industries which will encourage them to have collaborations with the universities by financing them in the research which helps the former to make profits. But if a student who is say interested in literature, is forced to become an engineer, he will not have any will to learn more in the field. Atmost he/she will become a mediocre engineer with no outstanding credibilities and this age of cut throat competition, with many engineer who have much better profile than that studet, no one will consider him/her in the job market. Then he/she will be unemployed or worked in a dead end job which neither gives him a decent salary nor satisfaction in life and thus becomes either depressed or engage in some sort of anti socila activities to earn money. Instead if the student is encouraged to learn literature, he/she by their imagination, can succeed in lives by becoming a novelist,or by writing a blog in a newspaper, a script writer or as a freelance writer. Admittedly , the jobs are unstable and few and so alot of comperitition exists for them too.But, it being a student's passion, he/she can put one's best foot forward,and can create wonders.Even if a student doesn't do well in the field, upto their expectation,one willl have the contentment that they have tried their level best and that satisfaction is priceless. For example, Sachin Tendulkar, who is one of the greatest cricketers of all time was failed his sophomore year. He didnt even further pursue his education. But his parents and coach encouraged his passions and with it he succeeded even in sports which has very less success rate. He became known as little master for his mastery in cricket.

Thus every educational institution must encourage a student's passion regardless of the future of the field as only then a person can have contentment in life which is very important for the well being of a person.