People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Emotions are a complicated part of the human beings and though sometimes play an important part in inter-personal bonding and caregiving, are not very fruitful in the decision making process. It is often observed that most emotions surface realitively quickly and in the spur of the moment based on multiple factors you are experiencing at that point of time such as fear, anger, etc.

It is often these decisions made in the split second that can lead to actions that can not be amended or rectified at a later point in time when rational and logical thinking begin after the emotions have subsided. For example, when a boss has a bad day, there is a high chance that he might lash out at an employee who failed to respond appropriately at a call center. But instead of rationally trying to fix the mistake and minimizing the delay, the boss might only further create an inconvenience if he responded with anger.

When decisions are thoroughly thought through, they have enough time to bud and develop. This gives the person ample time to progressively develop the case and come to a decision that best suits the situation. Consider a case where two teams are given a task to construct a car. One team gathers together to decide the colour, the specifications and the remaining aspects of the car while the other team begins to assemble the car. The first team is likely to be in sync throughout the entire process and can identify flaws at the initial stage and develop on the idea as they think through. The brain is similar to a team, there are different parts of the brain processing different information and it is important to give time to each of the parts to rationalize with each other and come to a mutual concensus on a decision to be made.

Logic can help identify the pros and cons in a situation. It gives the mind enough time to analyse the future results of the decision or action and subsequently launch a series of what-if senarios to provide a cost for the decision. This kind of analysis is done in problem solving where one has to come up with an answer based on trail and error methods. You pick a solution and analyse the error corresponding to it. The task is to minimize the error for a corresponding solution. Similarly, your decision should either minimize the error or maximize the output and drawing out subsequent results can help with it.

Though decision making based on gut feeling is a predominantly used strategy in cases where a person is neutral, predominant decision making should happen with logic and sound thinking.