The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are f

In the preceding argument, the owner of Movies Galore suggested its retail store to close earlier and reduce stock to cut expenses, based on good effects received from the store in downtown Marston. The strategies may sound reasonable at face, but many critical, yet ignored questions need to be addressed.

To begin with, the manager believes that raising price is not a good way to deal with profit drops, for special bargains are what Movies Galore is famous for. However, the manager doesn't make it clear if the price they offer is much lower than current market. If so, this might be one of the main reasons that cause declines in the profits. It's worth trying to raise the price while keep the special bargains.

Additionally, building upon the implication that the retail store in downtown Marston reduced expenses greatly by closing three hours earlier than usual, the manager asks other stores to do the same. However, there are many other factors that affect income and costs that should be considered. For example, the Marston store is located in downtown business area, so few customers visit at night. Conversely, if a store located in a living community closes earlier, it may lose most of its customers. Thus, a more detailed time schedule should be designed for each store after careful investigations.

Last but not least, the manager decided to reduce stock by eliminating movies released five years ago. The assumption here is that old movies are no longer popular and is just a waste of money keeping them in stock. One question may arise here is that some masterpieces are always welcoming, while other newer movies may not be that popular. As a result, it would be beneficial if the store throw away movies based on their sales statistics instead of release date.

Due to aforementioned evidences, although closing earlier and eliminating old movies might be useful strategies to deal with profit declines, more vigorous and thorough investigations is in need to come up with better plans for each store specifically.