In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Author's proposal that city governmnet should assign some more money in the year budget to riverside recreational activities does sounds totally valid point for improved quality of life for residents and increase in city's property value. It is very easy to understand why city residents would want a clean water, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to lead to increase in funding.

Firstly,Depending on a survey author argues that inspite of having huge intersets in water sports, people are not able to use the river because of the quality of water, but no proper evidence are provided regarding the survey as of how many questions where asked in the survey or how many people from the city actually partisipated in the survey. For example, the survey might only involve people who stay near to the river and hence they might be the only people who want to use the river for sports activities. The survey could have asked residents if they prefer using river for the water sports or would like to have a hydroelectric damn built, which may have swayed them to choose the river sports. There is possibilty that survey might have included only 2 questions on water sports and which is not enough to decide or come to conclusion.

Secondly, the author implies that residents do not use river for swimming, boating and fishing, despite of increased interest, because water is polluted and smelly. There is no concrete connection resident's lack of use and current state of the river made. Although there are complaints, it might be possible that complaints are from wide range of people or perhaps one or two people made lots of complaints. So , we dont jus do not know. To stengthen his/her argument author would get benifited from a normed survey by asking wide range of crowd , giving equal importance to people stying near to the river and as well as far from it.

A clean, beautiful river will often add city's property value and also gives a happy and healthy life for the residents of the city.For this reason, the government must decide to invest in imporving reiverside recreational activities. However this author's argument not likely significantly persuade the government to increase in funding.