Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest selling issues over the past three years the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more

While it may be true that Newsbeat magazine ought to reform its editorial policy to promote sales, the publisher's suggestions are based on several unanswered questions and are rife with flaws. Answering these questions would be vital for the implementation and success of the changes to be made.

To begin with, the publisher asserts that the sales of issues with political news on their covers were unsatisfying because readers are not interested in political news. It is unclear, however, the real causes of this phenomenon. For example, it is probable that people show less enthusiasm for these issues simply because they dislike the design style of those front covers. What is more, the publisher offered no evidence to rules out the possibility that Newsbeat magazine report political news from a biased perspective, thus losing a group of readers who disagree with the standpoint of the magazine. Before answering these questions and many others alike, the publisher is too reckless to draw the general conclusion that political news are not welcomed.

Additionally, making the magazine focus more on economics and personal finance is as risky as it is ungrounded. In deciding what to cover, the first question to be answered is the preferences of the major reader group of the magazine. Even though the publisher adduces survey of readers of general interest magazines to substantiate her argument, she still need to answer, particularly, whether readers of Newbeat are interested in economy-related topics or not. Maybe most readers of Newbeat are teenagers, who are likely to be attracted to entertainment news rather than economic issues.

Last but not least, it is unadvisable for the editor of Newsbeat to reject the publisher's recommendation by saying that a limited number of magazines are focusing on political news currently. Arguably, it can be an advantageous strategy to stick to political news while other magazines are not, occupying a unique niche in the market. Nonetheless, if the public are mostly lethargic and indifferent to politics, Newsbeat would not benefit from being one of the few magazines that report on politics. Therefore, the editor should form an accurate and clear evaluation of people's general interests before refusing the reform on the content arbitrarily.

In sum, the low sales of issues of Newsbeat magazine with political news on the front cover does necessitate alternations in its coverage. But before any decision is made and action is taken, the publisher and editor are expected to consider many of the related questions, instead of making desicion upon obstensible relations and facts.