Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes according to the survey just completed M

As the traffic situation in Waymarsh is worsened, in order to mitigate the traffic situation, the author of this argument proposed to follow the methods espoused by the city of Garville. It is clear to understand that the author suggested such proposal, as it is only logical to apply a method which has already been successful elsewhere, but the argument is rife with holes and assumptions. Before applying such methods, it would definitely require more thoughts and information, thus not strong enough to implement the policy adopted by Garville in Waymarsh.

By contrasting a three years old state traffic survey with a current one, the author pointed out the average time has significantly increasing for commuters to reach their work destinations. It is not clear however, the scope and validity of the survey. For example, the survey could have asked the resident the time it took them to reach work on a weekend not the weekdays, which would significantly lower the commuters average driving time. The survey does not cover the number of population or the economic state of these years. It could be possible that the number of people has risen significantly and number of motor vehicles gone up with it, which is causing the traffic to increase. Further, it is also important to look for the infrastructure’s growth of these past three years. For example, new factories or even stadium could have been built without the adequate number of parking spots which is forcing the commuters to park on the streets. Geological factors also should be in consideration, like is there any major change in the area, any new tourist spot attracting tourist, or any major natural calamity caused roads and bridges damages, for what the town council are suggesting new roads building. Unless the survey is fully representative, reliable and valid, it cannot be used to effectively back the author arguments.

Additionally, the author implies to adopt the policy of Garville town to reduce the traffic problems in Waymarsh town, but without any strong data to support this proposal. It has not stated the comparability of these both towns. The author proposed his idea by stating that people of Garville town told him/her the commuting time has fallen by applying the new policy, but the number of people has not been mentioned. It could be five or even hundred. The argument also said the pollution levels have also gone down after implementing the ride sharing policy, but it cannot be attributed as the sole reason in the reduction of pollutions, there can be many other factors affect this cause.

Examining all the various angles and factors involves with implementing the ride sharing policy of Garville town to reduce the traffic issue, the argument does not justify the policy will do equally well for Waymarsh towm. While the proposal does highlight a solution, more information is required to warrant any action.