The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author of the argument proposes that West Lansburg should not all the road to be built to preserve the tufted groundhog population inhabiting that area. The author suggests that West Lansburg should not allow this construction by taking the example of the decline in sea otters population in a neighboring area, after the repeal of its sanctuary status. The argument in not convincing and is ill founded. The evidence is not comprehensive enough to support the conclusion taken by the author.

The author has not substantiated on what activity caused adverse effects on teh ecology in Eastern Carpentaria. After the repeal of its sanctuary status, a lot of human intervention would have happened. There is no specific activity mentioned in the argument. Road construction in West Lansburg may or may not be detrimental to the population of the tufted groundhog. Also building a road does not imply repealing the sanctuary status of West Lansburg. If construction is done in manner that does not harm the environment of the area, it may actual prove helpful , by promoting better transport and access to the area and support tourism in that area too.

Additionally, there is no proof that repeal of the sanctuary status caused the decline in the sea otter population. It might have been due to some other climatic or anthopogenic activities. Sea otter poulation may have declined to due to some major climatic event. It might also be possible that climatic conditions were diiferent in 1978 and 2004, as mentioned in the argument.

Building a road along the edge of the wetland, now a sanctuary, possibly might not have any adverse effect on the biodiversity of the area, hence ensuring the health of the area. It may also be possible that construction of road might not be an environment polluting activity.

The local interest might , in collaboration with the West Lansburg council , may devise an environment friendly construction of the road along the edge.

The argument as it stands is fraught with assumptions, no proof undescoring the suggestion in the analogy. The author provide details of the climatic, environmental, regional and anthropogenic activities that had taken place in Eastern carpentaria. Also the the road contruction plans and regulations affect the consequences of any development activity in West lansburg are required for evaluating this argument. The analogy to the effects in a similar sanctuary is not completely supported.