"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument is full of fallacies. It concludes that interview-centered method of studying cultures is more accurate than the observation-centered approach based on many unwarranted assumptions. If these assumptions are proved wrong, then the argument will fall apart.

First of all, the argument bases its conclusion on the interview with children of different islands, including Tertia. However, in doing so, it fails to give any details about the interview. Some of the details missing out could be-what kind of questions were asked to children during the interview. It is possible that the questions asked to children weren’t varied and largely evolved around the activities that are mostly done by their parents. For example, children could have just asked two or three questions such as who drops them to school, who cooks meal for them, etc, which by chance could have been done by their parents. Hence, the argument needs to draw out the type of questions that children were asked in the interview and also whether the questions were representative of the study and enough for coming to the conclusion.

Additionally, there is no connection shown between the interview of children and the truth behind the rearing of the child in Tertia. The connection drawn by the argument is pretty vague. There is no study or thesis done or discussed in the argument that proves that children talking more about their parents suggests that their upbringing is done only by their parents. The argument needs to delineate on any such evidence to strengthen its position.

Building on the implication that the information received by the children during the interview is representative, still this doesn’t provide sufficient evident as to generalise that observation-centered approach of studying culture isn’t valid. This is just one data point, where in, interview-centered approach might have surpassed the first. But, it is still wrong to generalise the output.

Although, it might be true that observation-centered study isn’t superior to interview-centered study, argument’s way of proving is rife with holes and needs to be addressed if the conclusion needs to be accepted.