The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People see their leaders as inspiration, who can lead, protect and nurture them. A good leader always think, do and talk for his people. But, how can a good leader ensure that he is doing right for his people? Enjoining his people for feedback can help him understand them better and make a well calculated decision for their well being. Therefore, I agree with the given claim that for a leader to thrive, he should encourage feedback from the people he leads. The reasons behind my position are delineated in the body paragraphs.

First of all, no one is completely right alone. Same way, a good leader need not take the right decision all the time. He might be biased or blind folded sometimes. In such scenario, taking feedback can aid him understand his people's expectations and galvanize him to make the decision right in that situation. Not just in the aforementioned case, but also when the leader is making the right decision, a positive feedback helps him stay motivated and complacent. To elaborate further, we can take a look at example of Ex president of United states- Barack Obama: he always thought and spoke for his people. In doing so, he never missed to take feedback. This very attitude helped him to successfully lead his people for eight years.

Furthermore, taking feedback not only helps the leader to stay motivated but also assures his people that they are heard and in right hands. This positive feeling will extort them to cooperate with the leader and as a ramification, will knit a healthy, successful group or society. For an instance, in my office, my technical lead always like to take feedback and opinion of other team members. This, personally, makes me feel happy that my opinions are heard and worked upon. I, as a result, feel agog to go to office everyday .

However, sometimes feedback can be misleading and can digress the leader from taking the right decision. For example, during demonetization in India, a lot of people weren't happy and a feedback, at that time, could have shown dissatisfaction among the people. But, if at that moment, prime minister, Narendra Modi, had stepped back, it would not have been a right decision on his part, as demonetization was done for the long term benefit of people. Thus, blindly executing based on people's feedback ain't the right way. A good leader must peruse all the feedback to see their feasibility and then take a well calculated decision which is right in the situation.