"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the available space in the landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted because the number of residents have been recycling double in the past 2 years and the local government body is planning to double the charges for picking up garbage. The argument is based on several unconvincing assumptions.

Firstly, the author prediction that since the residents of the town have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years, there will be a significant decline in the amount of garbage. But if earlier the residents where doing negligible recycling and now that amount is doubled, it will not add up to make a significant difference. So the author must understand the earlier recycling pattern of the residents.

Secondly, the survey conducted on the residents have several loopholes. The 90 percent of the respondents in the survey who said they would do more recycling in future, might be the ones who are already doing recycling and the remaining 20 percent residents might be the ones who never took part in recycling and according to the survey they will not recycle even in the future. If it is a small town then that 20 percent can make a big mark.

Finally, an average household can recycle its waste only to a certain extend. There will always be a certain amount of garbage which will be generated by every household and increasing the charges for picking up of household garbage will not have a major impact on the amount of garbage produced by every household. This increase in charges might cause a backlash from the residents.

In conclusion, the author's argument that the available space in the landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted is seriously flawed. Since the survey conducted is not an accurate representation of how many more residents will start recycling and increasing the charges for garbage pickup might not have much positive impact as expected by the author.