Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent s

While it may be true that the KICK ought to expand its call-in advice programs to attract a larger group of audience, the decision made by the station manager is compromised by a number of questions. Answering these questions could be vital for the feasibility and success of this reform.

To begin with, citing the surge of audience of WCQP in Rockville after it broadcasted more call-in advice programs, the author concludes that this program is more popular. It is not clear, however, the exact element that contributes to this increase. For example, it is not impossible that more people choose to listen WCQP simply because they like the style of a particular host, but has little to do with the exact content of the program. Thus, to truly understand the relationship between audience share and call-in advice programs, the author ought to discreetly study the possible concomitant factors.

Additionally, the author implies that a nationwide survey suggests the growing popularity of call-in advice programs. This alone is far from adequate to support the assertion of the station manager of KICK. A problem worth noting here is the validity of the qurstionnaire. Before taking the results seriously, the author need to know how representative the survey is, for instance. Is it possible that the survey was carried out by a national radio station that shares a huge population of audience who like the call-in advice programs of that station? Before answering these questions and many others alike, the survey cannot be used as the evidence to include more call-in advice programs at KICK.

Last but not least, even if there is a possitive correlation between the number of audience and the proportion of call-in advice programs broadcasted, the preference of local community should also be considered. Since WCQP is located in Rockville, and the survey adduced by the manager is a nationwide one, these evidence do not reliably reflects the taste of people in Medway, where KICK is based. In other words, it would be fruitless for KICK to include more call-in advice programs if people in its listening area are indifferent to this program format at all.

In conclusion, a program format that caters the interests of more residents in the listening area can definitely increase the audience share of KICK. For this reason, the station manager of KICK may decide to offer more call-in advice programs. However, the author's arguments are rife with questions yet to be answered, which undoubtly undermine the implementation of broadcasting more call-in advice programs.