As violence in movies increases, so do crime rates in our cities. To combat this problem we must establish a board

to censor certain movies, or we must limit admission to persons over 21 years of age. Apparently our legislators are

not concerned about this issue since a bill calling for such actions recently failed to receive a majority vote.

The argument claims that crime rates in our cities increases as violence portrayed in the movies increases so, we must establish a board to censor certain violent movies or we must limit people under 21 years of age from watching such violent movies since our legislators are not concerned about crime rates since a bill calling for such action recently failed to receive a majority vote. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws

First, the argument readily assumes that because of increased violence shown in movies, crime rates in our cities has increased. The statement is stretch and not substantiated in any way. There can be other numerous reasons that may have increased crime rates in cities such as poverty or unemployment. For example there may be illegal drugs business conducted by some criminal in an organized way and may be expanding their business in cities. These factors could increase crime rates in cities. These factors are not explicity mentioned in the argument. The argument would be more clearer if it explicity shown the correlation for violence in movies that could have caused the rise in crime rates in cities.

Second, the argument claims that if we censor violent movies or if we limit admission to person over 21 years of age to watch these movies, then crime rates in our cities will be reduced. This is again very weak and unsupported claim since the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the rise in crime rates in cities and juveniles who watch the violent movies. The argument does not demonstrate how these juveniles watching these movies leads to increase in crimes rates in our cities.

Finally, the argument concludes that our legislators are not concerned about increased crime rates since a bill calling for such action recently failed to receive a majority vote. From this statement, it is clear that legislators nust have understood the above mentioned facts that weaken this argument resulting into the failure to pass the bill to censor violent movies or limiting under 21 years of age people from watching these violent movies.

In summary, the argument is flawed for above mentioned reason and therefore unconvincing. The Argument would be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts. In order to assess all the merits of the situation, it is essential to have the full knowledge of all the contributing factors.